Skip to primary navigation Skip to content

Historic Infrastructure Investments Are Here

Infrastructure is calling and Congress has stepped up to answer by passing the first piece of the Build Back Better agenda. This agenda will create millions of good-paying jobs and lay the groundwork for a full economic recovery from the pandemic, while also ushering in a new era of American innovation and prosperity. Together, the committee, working people, unions, mayors, and communities from across the country will build back better than ever through transformational infrastructure investment.

Infrastructure Is Calling

Americans are tired of potholes. They are tired of wasting hours of their day on congested highways. They’re tired of failing sewer systems, lead pipes, crumbling bridges, infrequent and unreliable bus service, and slow-moving trains.

Democrats have a solution: the Build Back Better Agenda. The Build Back Better Act and the bipartisan Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act will make federal investments in our roads, bridges, transit, rail, wastewater infrastructure and more while helping to tackle the climate crisis head-on. Together, these bills are expected to create 1.5 million good-paying jobs per year for the next decade, restore our global competitive edge, reduce carbon pollution that drives the climate crisis, and make our communities safer and more connected. We can do this—in fact—we can’t afford not to!

Committee Activity

The House Committee on

Transportation & Infrastructure

Peter A. DeFazio,

Democratic Members

  • Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC) Picture of Eleanor Holmes Norton
  • Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX 30) Picture of Eddie Bernice Johnson
  • Rick Larsen (WA 02) Picture of Rick Larsen
  • Grace F. Napolitano (CA 32) Picture of Grace F. Napolitano
  • Steve Cohen (TN 09) Picture of Steve Cohen
  • Albio Sires (NJ 08) Picture of Albio Sires
  • John Garamendi (CA 03) Picture of John Garamendi
  • Henry C.  Johnson. Jr. (GA 04) Picture of Henry C.  Johnson. Jr.
  • André Carson (IN 07) Picture of André Carson
  • Dina Titus (NV 01) Picture of Dina Titus
  • Sean Patrick Maloney (NY 18) Picture of Sean Patrick Maloney
  • Jared Huffman (CA 02) Picture of Jared Huffman
  • Julia Brownley (CA 26) Picture of Julia Brownley
  • Frederica S. Wilson (FL 24) Picture of Frederica S. Wilson
  • Donald M. Payne Jr. (NJ 10) Picture of Donald M. Payne Jr.
  • Alan S. Lowenthal (CA 47) Picture of Alan S. Lowenthal
  • Mark DeSaulnier (CA 11) Picture of Mark DeSaulnier
  • Stephen F. Lynch (MA 8) Picture of Stephen F. Lynch
  • Salud O. Carbajal (CA 24) Picture of Salud O. Carbajal
  • Anthony G. Brown (MD 4) Picture of Anthony G. Brown
  • Tom Malinowski  (NJ 7) Picture of Tom Malinowski
  • Greg Stanton (AZ 9) Picture of Greg Stanton
  • Colin Z. Allred  (TX 32) Picture of Colin Z. Allred
  • Sharice Davids (KS 3)* Picture of Sharice Davids
  • Jesús  García  (IL 4) Picture of Jesús  García
  • Chris Pappas (NH 1) Picture of Chris Pappas
  • Conor Lamb (PA 17) Picture of Conor Lamb
  • Seth  Moulton  (MA 6) Picture of Seth  Moulton
  • Jake Auchincloss  (MA 4) Picture of Jake Auchincloss
  • Carolyn  Bourdeaux  (GA 7) Picture of Carolyn  Bourdeaux
  • Kaiali'i  Kahele (HI 2) Picture of Kaiali'i  Kahele
  • Marilyn Strickland  (WA 10) Picture of Marilyn Strickland
  • Nikema  Williams  (GA 5) Picture of Nikema  Williams
  • Marie Newman (IL 3) Picture of Marie Newman
  • Troy Carter (LA 02) Picture of Troy Carter
  • Sheila  Cherfilus-McCormick (FL 20) Picture of Sheila  Cherfilus-McCormick
* Full Committee Vice Chair