FAST Act Implementation: Motor Carrier Provisions

2167 Rayburn House Office Building

f t # e
0 Tuesday, May 22, 2018 @ 10:00 | Contact: Justin Harclerode 202-225-9446

This is a hearing of the Subcommittee on Highways and Transit.  

Summary of Subject Matter

Witness List:

Panel I
  • The Honorable Ray Martinez, Administrator, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration | Written Testimony 

    Panel II

  • Mr. Dale Krapf, Chairman, Krapf Transportation | Written Testimony 
  • Mr. Mike VanMaanen, Owner, Eastern Missouri Commission Company; on behalf of Livestock Marketing Association | Written Testimony 
  • Captain Christopher Turner, President, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance | Written Testimony 
  • Ms. Jennifer Tierney, Board Member, Citizens for Reliable and Safe Highways; on behalf of Truck Safety Coalition | Written Testimony 

    More information about the hearing, including testimony, additional background information, and live webcast, will be posted here as it becomes available.

  • Chairman Sam Graves (R-MO)

    Subcommittee on Highways and Transit
    Opening Statement
    (Remarks as Prepared)

    I want to welcome all of our witnesses today and look forward to having a productive discussion about the various motor carrier issues facing the industry.  I am happy to welcome Administrator Ray Martinez to the Committee for the first time.  I know members on both sides are very interested to hear from Mr. Martinez on a number of issues that are before the Agency.

    As many of you know, the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act was the first long-term surface transportation reauthorization bill in a decade.  It included a number of reforms to laws governing the safety and oversight of commercial motor vehicles.

    Specifically, the FAST Act increased funding for and consolidated motor carrier grant programs, and streamlined programs to reduce administrative cost and regulatory burdens on the states.

    Something I’m very proud of that was important to a number of our Committee members was that the FAST Act reformed the Compliance, Safety, Accountability (CSA) program.  We heard loud and clear the concerns from the industry, the Government Accountability Office, and the DOT Inspector General.  The Committee will continue to closely monitor these reforms as FMCSA implements them.

    In addition, the FAST Act reformed the regulatory process by requiring FMCSA to use the best available science and data on various segments of the motor carrier industry when developing rulemakings, and establishing a process under which the public or the industry can petition FMCSA to revise or repeal regulations if they are no longer current, consistent, or uniformly enforced.

    Finally, the FAST Act provided opportunities to veterans by easing the process for individuals who are currently serving in either the armed services or reserve components to find employment in the trucking industry, and establishing a pilot program for veterans and reserve members younger than 21 years of age, who received training during their service in the military, to drive certain commercial motor vehicles in interstate commerce.

    Our witnesses will offer their feedback on the implementation of various motor carrier provisions of the FAST Act, as well as a number of other issues facing the industry.  I thank them for appearing before us today and look forward to their testimony.

    f t # e