Highways and Transit (115th Congress)

The Subcommittee on Highways and Transit has responsibility for the development of national surface transportation policy, construction and improvement of highway and transit facilities, implementation of highway and transit safety programs and research activities, and regulation of commercial motor vehicle operations. Within this scope of responsibilities, the Subcommittee has jurisdiction over many U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) programs, including the following:

  • Federal-aid Highway Program administered by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)
  • Federal transit programs administered by the Federal Transit Administration (FTA)
  • Highway safety grants and research programs administered by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
  • Commercial motor vehicle safety programs and regulations administered by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)
  • Surface transportation research administered by FHWA, FTA, FMCSA, NHSTA and coordinated through the Office of the Secretary of Transportation (OST)

Many of these agencies, especially FTA and FMCSA, also have security oversight and enforcement responsibilities as part of their regulatory functions. In addition, the Subcommittee has jurisdiction over certain provisions of the Clean Air Act pertaining to air quality compliance through the transportation planning and project development process administered by FHWA and FTA.

The House Subcommittee on

Highways and Transit (115th Congress)


  • Eddie Bernice Johnson - TX 30 Picture of Eddie Bernice Johnson
  • Steve Cohen - TN 09 Picture of Steve Cohen
  • John Garamendi - CA 03 Picture of John Garamendi
  • Henry C.  Johnson. Jr. - GA 04 Picture of Henry C.  Johnson. Jr.
  • Jared Huffman - CA 02 Picture of Jared Huffman
  • Julia Brownley - CA 26 Picture of Julia Brownley
  • Frederica S. Wilson - FL 24 Picture of Frederica S. Wilson
  • Alan S. Lowenthal - CA 47 Picture of Alan S. Lowenthal
  • Mark DeSaulnier - CA 11 Picture of Mark DeSaulnier
  • Salud O. Carbajal - CA 24 Picture of Salud O. Carbajal
  • Anthony G. Brown - MD 4 Picture of Anthony G. Brown
  • Tom Malinowski  - NJ 7 Picture of Tom Malinowski
  • Greg Stanton - AZ 9 Picture of Greg Stanton
  • Colin Z. Allred  - TX 32 Picture of Colin Z. Allred
  • Sharice Davids - KS 3 Picture of Sharice Davids
  • Jesús  García  - IL 4 Picture of Jesús  García
  • Antonio  Delgado - NY 19 Picture of Antonio  Delgado
  • Chris Pappas - NH 1 Picture of Chris Pappas
  • Grace F. Napolitano - CA 32 Picture of Grace F. Napolitano
  • Albio Sires - NJ 08 Picture of Albio Sires
  • Sean Patrick Maloney - NY 18 Picture of Sean Patrick Maloney
  • Donald M. Payne Jr. - NJ 10 Picture of Donald M. Payne Jr.
  • Dina Titus - NV 01 Picture of Dina Titus
  • Peter A. DeFazio (Ex Officio) - OR 04 Picture of Peter A. DeFazio (Ex Officio)

* Vice Chair

Ranking Member

Rodney Davis

IL 13


  • Don Young - AK AL Picture of Don Young
  • Rick Crawford - AR 01 Picture of Rick Crawford
  • Bob Gibbs - OH 07 Picture of Bob Gibbs
  • Daniel Webster - FL 11 Picture of Daniel Webster
  • Thomas Massie - KY 04 Picture of Thomas Massie
  • Mark Meadows - NC 11 Picture of Mark Meadows
  • John Katko - NY 24 Picture of John Katko
  • Brian Babin - TX 36 Picture of Brian Babin
  • David Rouzer - NC 07 Picture of David Rouzer
  • Mike Bost - IL 12 Picture of Mike Bost
  • Doug LaMalfa - CA 01 Picture of Doug LaMalfa
  • Bruce Westerman - AR 04 Picture of Bruce Westerman
  • Mike Gallagher - WI 08 Picture of Mike Gallagher
  • Brian Fitzpatrick - PA 01 Picture of Brian Fitzpatrick
  • Troy Balderson - OH 12 Picture of Troy Balderson
  • Pete Stauber - MN 08 Picture of Pete Stauber
  • Sam Graves - MO 06 Picture of Sam Graves