

THE UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF MAYORS

1620 EYE STREET, NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006 TELEPHONE (202) 293-7330 FAX (202) 293-2352 URL: www.usmayors.org

October 20, 2015

The Honorable Bill Shuster Chairman House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee 2251 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Pete DeFazio Ranking Member House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee 2164 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Shuster and Ranking Member DeFazio:

On behalf of The United States Conference of Mayors, I want to convey our support for the "Surface Transportation Reauthorization and Reform Act of 2015," legislation that provides for the long-term renewal of the nation's surface transportation law.

In developing this bipartisan package, we recognize the constraints before you in crafting this multi-year commitment, and we appreciate your many efforts to preserve the core elements of current law while seeking to strengthen the role of mayors and other local elected officials in delivering transportation projects so vital to our local areas and, ultimately, to our national economy.

The Conference is pleased that additional funding will be allocated to all urbanized and local areas under the Surface Transportation Program. We remain hopeful that the proposed STP Set-Aside to local areas will includes proportional obligation authority, as current law now provides for all other STP funding allocated by formula to local areas. We applaud your efforts to provide a stronger funding commitment to the repair of bridges on the Federal-Aid-System, making all such facilities eligible for funding under the National Highway Performance Program. Finally, we support provisions that allow mayors and other elected officials to continue to represent their transit agencies on MPO boards. At the same time, we have concerns about limitations on the use of flexible highway program funds for local transit investments, such as new starts or fixed guideway state of good repair projects, and we encourage you to revisit this issue as the legislation moves forward.

The Conference of Mayors commends you for your leadership on this legislation and supports your efforts to move this important legislation forward this year.

Very truly yours,

for cochran

Tom Cochran CEO and Executive Director

President: STEPHANIE RAWLINGS-BLAKE Mayor of Baltim Vice President: MICK CORNETT Mayor of Oklahoma City Second Vice President: MITCHELL J. LANDRIEU Mayor of New Orleans Past Presidents: KEVIN JOHNSON Mayor of Sacramento ELIZABETH B. KAUTZ Mayor of Burnsville MICHAEL A. NUTTER Mayor of Philadelphia JOSEPH P. RILEY, JR. Mayor of Charleston, SC Mayor of Charleston, SC Trustees: GREGORY A. BALLARD Mayor of Indianapolis BRYAN K. BARNETT Mayor of Rochester Hills SHANE T. BEMIS Mayor of Gresham STEPHEN K. BENJAMIN Mayor of Columbia, SC J. CHRISTIAN BOLLWAGE Mayor of Elizabeth JAMES BRAINARD Mayor of Carmel, IN MICHAEL B. COLEMAN Mayor of Columbus, OH IOY COOPER MICHARL B. COLEMAN Mayor of Columbus, OH JOY COOPER Mayor of Hallnadae Beach Mayor of Flallnadae Beach Mayor of Des Moines, IA GREG FISCHER Mayor of Colarboulle MIKE RAWILINGS Mayor of Calarboulle MIKE RAWILINGS Mayor of Calarboulle PEDRO E. SEGARRA Mayor of Harford Mayor of Hartford MARILYN STRICKLAND Mayor of Tacoma ASHLEY SWEARENGIN Mayor of Fresno Advisory Board: RALPH BECKER RALPH BECKER Mayor of Salt Lake City WILLIAM A. BELL, SR. Mayor of Birmingham RICHARD J. BERRY Mayor of Albuquerque MURIEL BOWSER Mayor of Washington. T MADRIEL BOWSER Mayor of Washington, DC ARDELL F. BREDE Mayor of Rochester, MN CHRISTOPHER L. CABALDON Mayor of West Sacramento BUL de REASUS BILL de FLASIO Mayor of New York BUDDY DYER Mayor of Orlando BILL FINCH Mayor of Bridgeport CAROLYN G. GOODMAN Mayor of Lav Vegas SYLVESTER "SLY" JANES, JR. Mayor of Kanasa Gira, MO WILLIAM P. KENOI Mayor of Holo HARRY JAROSILIERE Mayor of Plano BILL de BLASIO MAKY LAKOSILIERE Mayor of Plano EDWIN M. LEE Mayor of San Francisco KENNETH D. MIYAGISHIMA Mayor of Las Cruces FRANK C. ORTIS Mayor of Pembroke Pines ED PAWLOWSKI Mayor of Allentown MIGUEL A. PULIDO MIGGEL A. POLIDO Mayor of Santa Ana MADELINE ROGERO JAMES J. SCHMITT Mayor of Green Bay FRANCIS G. SLAY Mayor of St. Louis PAUL SOGLIN Mayor of McGreen V PAUL SOGLIN Mayor of Madison, WI MARK STODOLA Mayor of Little Rock BETH VAN DUYNE Mayor of Irving BRIAN C. WAHLER Mayor of Piscataway MARTIN J. WALSH Mayor of Boston SETTI WARREN Mayor of Newton NAN WHALEY Mayor of Dayton CEO and Executive Director TOM COCHRAN