

Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association

National Headquarters: 1 NW OOIDA Drive, Grain Valley, MO 64029

Tel: (816) 229-5791 Fax: (816) 427-4468

Washington Office: 1100 New Jersey Ave. SE, Washington, DC 20001

Tel: (202) 347-2007 Fax: (202) 347-2008

April 30, 2025

The Honorable Sam Graves Chairman House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure 2165 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Rick Larsen
Ranking Member
House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure
2165 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Re: Support for EV/Hybrid Annual Fee

Dear Chairman Graves and Ranking Member Larsen,

On behalf of the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association (OOIDA), representing 150,000 small-business truckers and professional drivers, we write in support of the proposal before the Committee to assess an annual fee on electric and hybrid vehicles. Professional truck drivers cover tens of billions of miles on American highways each year, so our members can speak from experience about the significant need to update and maintain our roads. Our members understand the value of an efficient highway network and support efforts to increase Highway Trust Fund (HTF) revenues so long as they are done in a fair and equitable way.

America's truckers are the backbone of our supply chain and make significant contributions to maintaining our roads and bridges by paying several taxes that support the HTF. However, truckers remain frustrated that electric vehicles currently pay nothing to the HTF despite having equal access to the roads and highways maintained by taxpayers.

We believe that this proposal for an annual fee on electric and hybrid vehicles is the very least that these vehicle owners should be paying to help maintain our infrastructure. OOIDA and the 150,000 truckers we represent support this proposal which would help ensure fairness on America's roadways.

Sincerely,

Todd Spencer President & CEO

Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association, Inc.